an interview with Ubuntu AI No. 19

whisper

image: NextUp

An Interview with Artificial Intelligence

by: K Mandla motho ke motho ka botho, Ubuntu, Ubuntu Forums 28 Oct. 2007

“Ubuntu is three years old this month, and some of its earliest users are still part of the community. Artificial Intelligence [see] – forum member No. 19, as he points out – began as a beta tester for the first release, but is probably best known for his aesthetic tastes … tastes that manifest themselves as amazing, beautiful and artistic desktops. Theming is not his only talent, with the Ubuntu Gamers Arena and the monolithic Ubuntu Document Storage Facility as additional projects. All said, you’d be hard-pressed to find another community member who has given back as much as AI.

Tell as much as you’re willing about your “real” life – name, age, gender, location, family, religion, profession, education, hobbies, etc.

“‘My real name is Simon (my parents wanted to call me Lokí, but my grandparents were against it), I’m a man in my best age (30, that is), living in a small country in Scandinavia called Denmark (population 5.2 million). My family traces its origins back to Norway in 1622. My education is in gardening and garden planning. But for the last six years I’ve been working in a daycare center for children aged 5-10, and in the last few months I started as a teacher.’

* * *

When and how did you become interested in computers? in Linux? in Ubuntu?

“‘Well, it started at an early age when my parents bought a Commodore 64 at the amazing prize of 4500 crowns (~£500) in the 80’s. I got bored with the games and started to write programs in BASIC. Later . . . ‘

* * *

“When did you become involved in the forums? What’s your role there?

“‘A guy at Mandrivausers.org (I think it was JVC) said that a new forum for Ubuntu had been created. We were among a few that signed up on the same day (yep, I’m member No. 19). Later on I joined the staff force and I’ve been there since.'” (full article)

Primary Source: K Mandla motho ke motho ka botho

Alerting Source: srlinuxx tuxmachines.org

+ + + + +

Newcomb’s commentary: “Proper words in proper places, make the true definition of style.” Jonathan Swift

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

